Team Administration

Table of content

Create subgroups
Assign sub-admins
Define custom share settings
Change ownership of data
Remove team members from groups

Whether the team you are managing is large or small, it is important to make sure the right people have access to the right data. Your electronic notebook should reflect your work and structure in the lab, so we made sure you can format groups to suit you and organize the people within correctly.


All features mentioned on this page are exclusive to the Extended version. Request a demo with a product expert to get more details about these features.

Request a demo

Create subgroups

Once you have created groups in your ELN, you might want to create subgroups, be it for mini projects within a larger project or for your research groups within a department. This can be done in a few easy steps.
Create subgroups for mini projects

  1. Head over to Manage > Groups.
  2. Enter the group in which you want to make a subgroup.
  3. Click the +Add button.
  4. Select Add new subgroup.
  5. Give a name to the subgroup.
  6. Select the parent (sub-)group and click Create.

Once you have your subgroup you can add team members to it by clicking the +Add button and selecting Invite user. When selecting the group to invite them to, select the relevant subgroup and you are ready to start collaborating!

Assign sub-admins

In the ELN you can assign admins for your subgroups. If your team structure is complicated, with numerous groups and subgroups, it might be tricky to keep an overview of it all. Just as you would have middle-management in an organization, you can have sub-admins for individual teams. By delegating the admin role, the sub-admin will be able to ensure that the right people have access to the right data.

Make members admins of subgroups

  1. Go to the subgroup you want to assign an admin to.
  2. Hover over the person who you want to make sub-admin.
  3. Click the gearwheel icon.
  4. Select Set member as admin.

If you ever need to take away someone’s sub-admin role, simply go back to the gearwheel icon and select Remove member as admin.

Define custom share settings

Due to the ever-changing and often specific structures of your teams, you need to be able to share your projects (or templates) with the group, while also keeping others as private. In labfolder, you can customize the share settings of all your content to ensure the right people are seeing them.

Decide how your entries can be shared

  1. Go to Manage > Projects.
  2. Find the project that you need to share with others.
  3. Hover over it and click on the gearwheel icon.
  4. Select Share Settings.
  5. Now you can choose who you want from the department or group to see the project and the data within.

Of course, you are always able to go back and change this visibility setting.

The exact same procedure is available for Templates, except that the first step is Manage > Templates.

Change ownership of data

You may need to change the ownership of data, whether the project leader needs to change or the owner was removed from the group, meaning someone else needs to take over their role.

Change ownership of the data within your ELN

  1. Go to Manage > Projects tab.
  2. Find the relevant project in your folders.
  3. Hover over it and click on the gearwheel icon.
  4. Select Change owner.
  5. Select Set as owner next to the person that you wish to become the owner.

The exact same procedure is available for Templates, except that the first step is Manage > Templates.

Remove team members from groups

In case a team member leaves the lab, project, or group, you will need to remove them from the group in the ELN. This is to ensure that the data is kept inside the lab or project.

  1. Go to Manage > Groups.
  2. Find the person in the respective group(s).
  3. Hover over their name and click the gearwheel icon.
  4. Select Remove member from group.

Please note that you will need to Change the Ownership of all projects and templates that belong to this team member, before performing this procedure, even the hidden ones.


They will now no longer have access to the data from the projects/groups they have been removed from. This extends to the data that the removed person contributed to the project.

Discover how our MDB works