Can I reuse/modify a signed entry?

 

labfolder offers users two apps that allows for data validation, Sign & Witness and Signature Workflows. While the free in-ELN Sign & Witness function allows you to sign and request 1 more witness, Signature Workflows is a paid add-on to the labfolder Advanced Version, designed to create complex validation workflows including multiple witnesses and the option to comment on approval or rejection actions.

 

Reuse an entry with Sign & Witness

  • No, after signing an entry using the Sign & Witness app, the entry itself cannot be modified anymore.
  • However, if you want to further work on your study and continue notes in a signed entry, you may
    1. Open the signed entry and click on the gearwheel at its top-right corner.
    2. Select Copy to end in the dropdown menu.
    3. Scroll down to the bottom of the page, you will see an identical entry except the changed created date and the disappeared signature. You can now modify the duplicated entry.

 
Helpdesk-Copy entry to end

 
 

Reuse an entry with Signature Workflows

  • Yes, using Signature Workflows allows users to revoke signatures at any point of time.
  • By doing so, the entry becomes editable again. Simply follow these steps
    1. Open the signed entry and click on the gearwheel at its top-right corner.
    2. Select Revoke Signature in the dropdown menu.
    3. Confirm that you really want to revoke the given signatures.

 

Back to the main helpdesk page